A Simple Doctor Visit

Last night, August 24th, 2011, my wife, Tara, brought Alec to the late night clinic because he hasn’t been feeling to well; barfing, fever, not eating. The doctors there sent her to our local hospital. After a few hours there and a set of x-rays they determined that there may be tumors around his lung and kidney. So, Tara went via ambulance to Orlando hospital and he was asigned a room and they waited all night til this morning to see the doctor.

The doctor came in around 9:30am, made his rounds, came in to see Tara and said he’d be back in a little while after looking at Alec’s chart. When he came back he informed her(and me via telephone), that Alec does indeed have cancer. It appears to be exactly as the first hospital diagnosed, around his lung and kidney and after some more tests today they’ll determine the proper plan to cure it with chemo and removal of the tumors. The doctor sounds confident, I sure hope he is. I don’t know what I’ll do if my little guy isn’t around any longer. Please….everyone send out good prayers, thoughts and love for our son Alec.

About Big Mike

I have a strong passion for automobiles of the 70's, 80's and early 90's with a deep appreciation for the lost, forgotten and under-dog cars, trucks, suvs and vans of that time period.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A Simple Doctor Visit

  1. Tina Morey says:

    My prayers and love are with Alec and the family. Please call if you need anything. We are praying for you.
    Hugs and Love,
    Jeff, Tina, Ben, Amanda, Sam, Nate, Lance, Willow, and Isabelle.

  2. sandra ( Meg's mother-in law) says:

    Mike and Tara,
    I’m so saddened to hear the news today about Alec, know that i’m here to help out in any way that i can. If you need me to help with the girls I’m here.. 386-748-3511.. I will be keeping you all in my prayers.

  3. Aunt Megan says:

    We love you Alec and are sending lots of prayers!

  4. Karen Blake says:

    My thoughts, love and prayers are with you all!

  5. Tara, Mike and the Girls, just hearing this news makes me wanna cry (he’s to young to have this happening to him)… I am so sorry that you guys have to go through this and am praying that all goes well and the treatments are a success… Tara, you know if you need an ear or anything at all, please let me know. I will do what I can for you. 😦

  6. Amanda Gunther says:

    Tara, Emmet and I are sending all our love and prayers to you and Alec and family. We LOVE YOU!!!

  7. CRYSTAL OATHOUT says:

    TO ALEC AND HIS FAMILY
    I AM A FRIEND OF AMANDA DOWNINGS I READ YOUR HORRIFIC STORY ON FACE BOOK. MY THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS ARE WITH YOU AND LITTLE ALEC.

  8. Barb Ward says:

    My thoughts and prayers are with Alec and the family. Please don’t hesitate to call if you need someone to talk to..wish we were closer to be able to show more support. I pray for the doctors to be given the wisdom to treat Alec, I pray that God guides the hands of the surgeons, and that Alec be blessed with a quick recovery. And, I pray that you are given the grace and patience to deal with this situation.

    Much Love,

    Barb, Dave, Katelynn, David, & Nathan

  9. Patty Reksc says:

    So very sorry to hear. Sending you many healing thoughts and prayers.

  10. Angie says:

    I do not know you or your family, only saw your story via Facebook. I am deeply saddened by your shocking news as I do have 3 young boys myself. I couldn’t imagine what I would do in your situation. I can only offer my deepest thoughts and prayers to you and your family and especially your little boy. Hope all goes well with the surgery and pray for a speedy recovery.

  11. Jane Brower says:

    Tara & michael;
    I know this time is devastating, I know this feeling all to well and when Barb told what was going on it all came back like it was happening to us all over again. I am right here anytime you have questions or need a friend. I can get you pointed in the right direction, tell you some questions to be asking your team of doctors. Alec and all of you are on several church prayer chains already, so take comfort that we all want Alec to have a full & speedy recovery. We want Alec to be a fighter and be strong. We want him to be like Sierra, a SURVIVOR. Please dont ever think that any question is silly or insignificant. I will be happy to help you in any way I can. I will encourage you to write down your questions for the doctors, you will forget otherwise. I had them seperated by specialty, what to ask infectious disease { after she got menegitis}, oncology and neurology. I had them taped to the walls of her room at Albany Med. Be strong, have faith and please please dont hesitate to call ever.
    Jane & Sierra

  12. heather roth says:

    Prayers and love being sent from Cleveland, Oh…..

  13. Melisa Feinour says:

    Our thoughts and prayers are with all of you!

  14. Kara says:

    Tara, you and your family are in my prayers.

  15. Tara says:

    Tara my thoughts and prayers are with you all. He is in great hands between God the doctors and his loving family. Keep us all posted on how he is doing and take care of yourselves too.

  16. Angela says:

    Dear Lord, please touch Tara and Mike during this time. Be ever present in their struggle. Give them strength and courage. Silence their fears and calm their worries. Show them your prescence and power and build their faith. For Alec, we would ask for a complete healing of this disease, that all of tumors and any small little micro-organism are removed successfully from his little body. Be the joy and strength in this little guy’s spirit. Let this family be a witness and testify a miracle. All these things we ask and give thanks. In Jesus name, Amen.

    I do not know your family, but I believe in miracles. God bless you during this time.

  17. youre in our hearts!! we’re sending you lots of great, healing vibes! love always, kelly and declan

  18. amy Buchan- says:

    Keeping the little guy in my thoughts and prayers.

  19. Kathleen DeRuscio & Cindy Reynolds says:

    Hi all,
    Thoughts and prayers will continue for all of you especially Alec.
    Cindy leading the prayer group each week!! I must say (KD) she does an excellent job!!
    We will stay in touch and please let us know if you need anything!!!

  20. Irina Andrew says:

    Hi guys,

    This is Jamie’s 4th Grade teacher. I feel for you in this time, even though my little girl did not go through half of what Alec is going through, we were in the same hospital 1 1/2 years ago with her seizures, almost lost her. It was really hard to keep hoping for the best, but I hope that you will look at the bright side of things and realize how blessed you are to have such great kids and that GOD has a plan for Alec. Jamie is such a wonderful girl, she is truly a joy to have in my class. I wish Alec a speedy recovery and hope to see him visit us at school one of these days. God bless you and your family Alec, you are one brave little boy!!!

    With love, Mrs. Andrew : )

    P.S. I have something special for you in our classroom, so come visit soon Alec.

Comments are closed.